Boozman convenes inaugural Congressional Youth Cabinet

Arkansas high school students are lending their voices to Washington policies as members of U.S. Senator John Boozman’s Congressional Youth Cabinet, a program to expose students to the legislative process and opportunities for advocacy and civic engagement.



The group of 44 juniors from all four congressional districts met for the first time in Little Rock on Friday.



“I am pleased to launch this program in Arkansas and bring together young leaders from all corners of the state,” Boozman said. “I look forward to receiving their feedback on subjects that interest them and their peers and discussing the challenges facing our nation. We all have a responsibility to use our talents to improve our communities and I am grateful that these students are interested in helping shape the future and advocate on issues important to them.”



The Congressional Youth Cabinet is a nonpartisan initiative that allows students to gain first-hand experience of engaging in the democratic process. Participants will attend several meetings throughout the school year. As part of the program, they will research a national issue they select and present their recommendations for Senator Boozman at the final meeting in April.



Information about this year’s program was distributed to all Arkansas public school districts and students submitted applications to participate. Students were chosen to represent all four congressional districts with an emphasis on community involvement and leadership.



The following students are participants:

1st Congressional District

Angel Castillo of Stuttgart

Anthony Wayne Conklin of Austin

Roxana Flores of Jonesboro

Kayla Jones of Jonesboro

Shannon Langston of Blytheville

Sabrina Martin of Marked Tree

Emma McDaniel of Jonesboro

Mary Katherine Osborne of Wynne

Jackson Parrish of Marked Tree

Vivian Qualls of Ash Flat

Benjamin Robert of Bay

Myra Roork of Salem

Kevin Walker of Gassville


2nd Congressional District

Lauren Brown of Searcy

Reyna Chambers of Little Rock

Benjamin Collins of North Little Rock

Adam Graddy of Clinton

Josh Hale of North Little Rock

Andrew Hogue of Beebe

Nicki Hooten of Greenbrier

Carolyn Hopkins of Springfield

Haley Roberts of Little Rock

Jennifer Song of Little Rock

Sophia Young of Little Rock


3rd Congressional District

Samuel Cobbs of Rogers

Trent Curtis of Dover

Morgan DiBasilio of Rogers

Cora Ferguson of Fayetteville

Reeya Gandhi of Berryville

Garrett Hays of Gentry

Brian Huang of Fayetteville

Kade Jarvis of Gravette

Alex Jordan of Lincoln

Obadiah Koster of Bentonville

Zegita Rapert of Fayetteville

Elizabeth Ricker of Rogers


4th Congressional District

Mica Chesshir of Texarkana

Jance Cook of Texarkana

Tyler Dickson of Royal

Tiffany Hobson of Sims

Mekinzie Kyle of Mena

Javan Patterson of Texarkana

Madison Stanley of Texarkana

Emily Staton of Magazine



From a release

Terry Simmons